Todd Durrant’s Random Thoughts
Follow the efforts of a creative, crazed entrepreneur.

Where You’re Going

I’ve neglected this blog lately.  It isn’t that I haven’t had a lot on my mind.  I’ve been thinking a lot about things, and I have would-be articles in my head, but the time never seems to become available.

So, just to make sure this blog isn’t stale for too long, I’ll share a new no-budget video with you.   Dylan and my other kids are out of school for the Thanksgiving holiday, so we have a little time to shoot silly videos.   Yesterday (November 25th) we shot footage for two videos, and finished editing one of them.

The first is one of my poppy songs called “Where You’re Going”.   It is one of the songs on the upcoming “Restricted” album which is a concept album loosely focused on the changing music business and my own personal struggles to find a professional place in the world (how to make a living).   We kind of went with a little of that theme in the video, though as usual, it was mostly just for fun.  Also, Dylan took a lot of the initiative in filming this one and just vanished for a few hours with his friends, since I was working most of the day.   We noticed afterward that his camera lens had been dirty– you’ll see the effect of that.   But we ended up liking what he called the “Cloverfield effect” of the cheap, hand-held camera.

Here is the video for “Where You’re Going (Rename’s Video Mix)”:

Oh, and in case you’re interested, there is also a “Rename DJ Club Mix” which will be on the album, and the original version of the song which has what my little girl called a “conga line beat”.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and I’ll hopefully be back to this blog soon.

-Todd

 

One Response to “Where You’re Going”

  1. The banana made me laugh. One of your better videos yet. Good job.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

